Skip to content

Celebrating the Finish

May 30, 2012

I love everything about making things with fiber, yarn, and fabric, but my favorite part may be what’s going on in my head before I begin. That’s when I imagine this wonderful new thing that’s going to take color and shape. But then, of course, there’s making it happen. I love choosing the colors and pattern, and even enjoy the math that gets me the quantities and measurements I need (a sort pleasant mental puzzle, more satisfying than Sudoku). Once the project is launched and seems to be going okay, I’ve been known to lose a little interest, unless the looming deadline of a birthday, wedding, or Christmas keeps the fire lit. I confess, I even like finishing: It’s satisfying to get rid of dangling ends and threads, stitch things together and block or full the piece, erasing, or at least smoothing out irregularities. But this is the moment when almost inevitably disappointment hits. It seems like there’s always something that I wished I’d done differently or a little mistake that I wished I hadn’t ignored or the colors aren’t what I had envisioned or, worst of all, it’s not the right size – and the list, I’m afraid goes on. I’ve learned one way to get over this letdown that often works: hide the item for a week or a month or a year and then look at it again. It’s amazing how much better something looks after a little rest – sort of like letting the bread dough rise, I guess.

Robin and her quilt

My friend Robin Clutz took an entirely different approach with the magnificent quilt she just finished as a gift for her high-school-graduating granddaughter: She had a party. She invited her quilt group and other fiber-loving friends to afternoon tea, with the quilt in the place of honor. Made with Kaffe Fassett fabrics, the quilt is a completely joyful garden of rosy, rich colors and beautiful piecing. It was an honor to share this joy and celebrate Robin’s creativity and skill. Some people are lucky enough to belong to a guild or group to share their triumphs, as well as their knitting and quilting puzzles while still underway, but even when there’s no group nearby, why not simply have a party, reach out to friends, and celebrate beauty and creativity? It’s yet another way of spreading the gift and the joy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 11:59 pm

    Beautiful quilt.

  2. Caroline Clutz Keeney permalink
    June 1, 2012 1:10 am

    So great to see my mom celebrating and celebrated! Thanks

Leave a Reply

