Skip to content

Wherever you are, that’s a good place to knit!

December 15, 2011

Writing The Knitter’s Life List was a true joy! I was constantly inspired and intrigued by what I learned as I researched and wrote, and I was moved by the generosity and support of the fiber community in response to my many questions. Now that the book is out in the world, I’m quite humbled – but also excited – by the realization that this particular list is truly never ending. The painter Degas wisely commented that “Painting is easy when you don’t know how, but very difficult when you do.” And that’s not just true about painting: the more you know about anything, the more you discover how much more there is to learn. Writing The Knitter’s Life List brought that home to me with a resounding thud. Not only am I constantly reminded of things I could have included in the book, yet missed, but the fiber world is forever bubbling with new creative projects, intriguing techniques, talented people, and (sometimes) whacky ideas. The life list could indeed never be considered final. That’s my motivation for creating this blog. Each week I’ll write about something else I’m adding to my list. I’m hoping readers will share their discoveries, too, so that together we can keep the life list growing.

Knitter-spotting. I’m thinking first of places where I’m likely to pull out my knitting. My book includes a list of likely and less likely places to knit, along with a pitch for knitting in public. I realized recently, however, that I forgot to include one of my own very favorite knitting hangouts: the beach! I can’t imagine anything much more soul-satisfying than sitting on the sand, listening to the ocean, and knitting on a warm, sunny beach late on a golden afternoon. Once you’re home and pull out your knitting, the little sprinkles of sand that fall out in your lap are sparkling reminders of a perfect day! What is your favorite place to knit? Where do you wish you could knit?!

Nauset Beach coasters. Flat stones from the Cape Cod National Seashore inspired me to drape little crochet starfishes over them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 12:21 pm

    Dear Gwen,
    My favorite place to knit these days is outside, while watching my children play in the yard. I carry a small project (usually socks) in a little purse.
    I wish I could have the courage to knit at work. During meeting, or, when I teach, during movie screenings. I bring the knitting in my bag, but then lose the courage to do so because the mood is so serious!
    Thank you so much for this book!! It has gotten me out of a serious knitting rut and given me the inspiration to take a big leap and learn new things. Since reading it, I’ve gone on to learn to knit with my left hand, and try stranded knitting, which I think I will really love.
    Thank you!
    Julie

    • April 4, 2012 1:32 pm

      Thanks so much for your nice note, and good luck with all the new things you’re trying — including knitting in some of those unexpected places! Maybe you need a knitting buddy for courage!

  2. adventuresinaretrocaravan permalink
    April 18, 2012 9:08 pm

    Hi,
    I love your starfish pebbles! I live on the south coast of England and would relish the opportunity to combine my favourite hobbies of beach walking and wool! After years of knitting I’ve recently taken up crochet, and wondered if you’d share the starfish pattern? Many thanks

    • April 19, 2012 1:04 am

      Thank you! I’m especially delighted to think about someone on the other side of the ocean sharing the same pleasure I do discovering all the treasures the sea washes up and uncovers! I’ll post directions for the starfish in my blog tomorrow. Thanks for asking!

      • adventuresinaretrocaravan permalink
        April 19, 2012 4:36 pm

        Thanks that’s really kind of you. I’mlooking forward to giving them a go.

Leave a Reply

